Project Goal

The City of Rijeka is a project partner in the EU project aimed at creating and launching the network of “European Towns Fostering Intercultural Dialogue and Combating Discrimination of Migrants and Minorities.”


20 Sept. 2019 – 19 Sept. 2021

Competent authority

European Commission, Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA)


The aim of the project is to raise awareness of the richness of the cultural environment in the EU and to promote key European values such as pluralism and tolerance, which are facilitated by intercultural exchange and thus contribute to the development of a respectable, dynamic and multiple European identity.

The specific objective of the project is to encourage intercultural dialogue between different communities and political actors in Europe, to prevent discrimination and combat the stigmatization of migrants and minority groups. Overall, more than 3,000 participants will take part in conceiving and implementing 5 international conferences in Croatia, Bulgaria, Latvia, Poland and Lithuania, as well as in 5 online civic debates to be held until September 2021.

The project is expected to promote active civic participation on a transnational scale, support the efforts of local and European policy makers and citizens to jointly address the challenges of intercultural dialogue and the stigmatization of minorities and migrants.

Main project activities

The project includes international meetings, online debates and local events.


  • Total project value: EUR 148,680.00
  • Co-financed by EU funds: EUR 148,680.00

Co-financed under the programme

Europe for citizens


The project is implemented in partnership with 15 partners from 14 countries, of which 10 are EU members: Latvia, Poland, Croatia, Greece, Lithuania, Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, Romania and Bulgaria, the United Kingdom and three neighbouring countries – Serbia, Northern Macedonia and Albania.

Five partners are former, current and future representatives of capitals of culture: Plovdiv (2019), Rijeka (2020), Timisoara (2021), Novi Sad (2021) and Kaunas (2022).

  • Carnicava Municipality, Latvia  – Lead partner
  • Iniesta Municipality, Spain
  • Albanian Association of Municipalities, Albania
  • International Labour Association, Holland
  • Macedonian Network of Local Action Groups, Mogila Municipality, Macedonia
  • Timisoara (European Culture Capital in 2021), Romania
  • Aleksandrów Łódzki, Poland
  • Novi Sad 2021 (European Culture Capital in 2021), Serbia
  • City of Rijeka (European Culture Capital in 2020), Croatia
  • Municipality of Polpenazze del Garda, Italy
  • Rhodopes Center for Community Development, Bulgaria
  • Downpatrick Twinning Partnership, UK
  • Regional Development Agency (Europ Capital of Culture 2022), Lithuania
  • ARSIS – Association for the Social Support for Youth (tbc), Greece

Website of the project

For further information, please contact

Ingrid Ikanović
City Department of Culture
Korzo 16, Rijeka
Tel: 051 209 565

Skip to content